God’s Word and Fons Trompenaar’s 7 Dimensions of Culture

I recently was pointed to a wikipedia page that described a breakdown of different cultures based on seven criteria. My friend asked me to comment on my home culture and on a culture I have lived in outside of my home culture. Then to comment on what parts of culture have been hard to bridge in relation to moving from “home culture” to “other culture”. As I pondered for a bit I realized that I really don’t want to bring my home culture to stand as a barrier to any new culture I go to. Likewise, I have now desire to passively take on a new culture with out putting some thought into it. The culture I want to know, live and see is a biblical culture. I am quite convinced that a biblical culture is not purely American or European or Asian or Middle-Eastern or African. It is not tied to geography but to the word of God. The culture shock that I want to experience is not longing for my home culture but for instead longing for a biblical culture. Starbucks you are cool and all but you don’t matter in place of love, justice and an invitation to eternal inheritance. There are seven dimensions of culture and I figure that calls for seven posts where I hope to struggle between two different expressions of culture and I hope to see where a balanced biblical expression is.

The page for this idea comes from the link below.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fons_Trompenaars

One thought on “God’s Word and Fons Trompenaar’s 7 Dimensions of Culture

  1. Looking forward to this.

    I think God is so far above our theories of cultural communication that it’s almost impossible to assign him a space, let alone evaluate his character in this area, yet by trying we can learn more about him and us.

    So this should be good. As for part 1, about universalists vs. particularists, thanks for including scripture and parables. I think it’s important to remember the parable of the sower. He’s scattering (probably) the same amount of seed all over the place, same seed, but the soils are different. God recognizes that soils are all different and is not surprised when some get choked, others zapped by the sun, etc..He is universalist in his scattering and seed distribution, but has created people who represent various soils.

    God did the burning bush method once, the spitting/healing thing once (that we know of) and has spoken in various ways to people of all ages—He is the same yesterday, today and forever, but reveals himself in His own way to those he chooses. I agree with your points on many are called, few are chosen.

    This morning I read the following:

    No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it. (1 Cor. 10:13).

    It does not say, “You have all been tempted with the same temptations,” just as not everyone is given 10 minas or 1 mina. But he does promise that no matter what tempts us, or what situation arises, “He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear”. He divides up our trials and our blessings in unique ways, but his promises are true for all. We therefore have no excuses with him, whatever faces us, because we all have the same promise from the same God who is over all, through all and in all. He’s above our perceptions of dimensions, (7 or 70) and is also in us and through us.

    I anticipate that the next 6 ruminations will be equally thought-provoking and inspiring.

Leave a Reply

